Tuesday with Tasha Tudor ~ Shawls

TUESDAY WITH TASHA TUDOR ~ SHAWLS

Tasha Tudor wearing her hand- knit shawl in the herb garden!

Tasha Tudor wearing her hand –  knit shawl in the herb garden! I find her shawl inspiring as well as her bay tree!!

Many of us take delight in escaping into Tasha’s world, through the many books about Tasha and her creative life. We can’t help but notice the lovely, cozy warm grey hand-knit shawl, that we so often see her wearing over her shoulders ~ in  the kitchen, while stirring up some delectable dish, in the garden while picking some fresh bay leaves, in her flower garden whilst eradicating those pesky weeds, in the barn while milking her goats……..

 

Tasha Tudors shawl

Tasha wearing her hand-knit grey shawl in the barn

Tasha Tudor sitting by the fire wearing her hand knit shawl holding a corgi puppyTasha Tudor sitting by the fire wearing her hand knit shawl holding a corgi puppyTasha Tudor sitting by the fire wearing her hand knit shawl holding a corgi puppy

Tasha Tudor sitting by the fire wearing her hand knit shawl holding a corgi puppy

 

 

 

Tasha Tudor style hand- knit shawl

My design for a Tasha Tudor style “Cottage Elegance” shawl.    I like this picture of Tasha  wearing her shawl  while knitting. Found in the book ‘Tasha Tudor’s Heirloom Crafts’ by Tovah Martin and Richard Brown        ~Another favorite picture is of Tasha sipping tea standing at her green house window. This picture is found in the book  “Forever Christmas”    by Harry Davis

 

Tasha Tudor Style Hand-Knit Shawl

“Cottage Elegance ” Hand-Knit shoulder shawl! There are many version of the Tasha Tudor style hand-knit shawl. This is one of my designs . I have knit it up in a soft cotton yarn which best suites me, since I live in Florida in the winter.

I have noticed in my  many books about Tasha Tudor, that she is wearing a shawl quite often ~ almost year round. She is wearing her shawl as she goes about her task of the day — from the barn, to the garden, to the kitchen. If you have ever visited Vermont you would understand why…. Tasha states  ” I believe in keeping warm”!

Etsy shop Tasha Tudor Shawl Birthday Tuesday celebration tea time knitting tutorial Tasha Tudor Christmas Red Hand Knit Shawl Knitting instructions Forever Christmas Red Tasha Tudor Shawl Pattern Irish Cottage style knitting cottage style shawl

Knitting…knitting…. knitting along……. I do find this type of knitting to be very relaxing. Maybe I’ll get to keep this one 😉

***By popular request****

I am working  on releasing the pattern for both of my Tasha Tudor style cottage shawls with a couple of special features and bonuses ~ in true Tasha Tudor style.

******PATTERN IS AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE***

My Pattern Tasha Tudor Style ” Cottage Elegance Kindred spirit Shawl”, is now available for purchase – in my etsy shop!

Within my pattern I share with you the story of I came to knit my  “Cottage Elegance shawl” including the instruction for knitting your very own grey wool “Kindred Spirit Shawl” with the  bonus  instructions for knitting my  “Cottage Elegance Cotton shawl”-  in two variations, as previously featured on my blog. I share with you how you can achieve varying looks with your shawl”s by the simple choice of yarns.

Within my story pattern I share with you, what yarn I  use and  the best size needles to use.  I also share with you a  pattern for “The Man about the Cottage Scarf,” A men, women even teenagers and children. The scarf  is a wonderful layer to your shawl on very cold northern days!!

I also share many suggestions for using left over yarn ~ such as a China doll  size  Cottage shawl,to match yours. A pattern for hand warmer to match your scarf or shawl.

http://www.etsy.com/listing/236659762/pdf-cottage-elegance-kindred-spirit?ref=shop_home_active_1

 

 

Tasha Tudor style shawl pattern Fall Autumn Sale Shawl for sale Etsy fall autumn sale Elegantlyhandmade.wordpress.com

A peaceful, calm knitting…. perfect that cozy autumnal night.

CUSTOM HAND – KNIT TASHA TUDOR STYLE SHAWLS AVAILABLE HERE:

~ My Hand – knit TASHA TUDOR STYLE ‘KINDRED SPIRIT’ VERMONT WOOL SHAWL:

http://www.aftcra.com/elegantlyhandmade/listing/142839/cottage-elegance-kindred-spirit-vermont-wool-handknit-shawl

Cottage Elegance by Melissa Kindred spirit take joy take peace hand knit Tasha Tudor style hadnknit pdf pattern prairie shawl pattern farmhouses shawl pattern ターシャ·テューダースタイルハンドニットショールパターン Tāsha· te~yūdāsutairuhandonittoshōrupatān

“Cottage Elegance Cotton Shawl”

~ My Custom Hand – knit TASHA TUDOR STYLE ‘COTTAGE ELEGANCE’ COTTON SHAWL:

http://www.aftcra.com/elegantlyhandmade/listing/225866/cottage-elegance-red-cotton-shawl-hand-knit

HAPPY CUSTOMERS!

I have sold a “Cottage Elegance Cotton Shawl”   and a grey “Kindred Spirit Shawl” of  Vermont wool and mohair yarn, to a happy kindred spirit in Japan:

*From a happy customer in Japan**
“What a craftsmanship! Thank you so much for such beautiful works!”
“Such a lovely item and very warm too. I really love it, thank you so much!”


Have a cozy day!!

~ Take Joy, Melissa

 

All content  and photos of this blog are under copyright 2015 – 2017 By Melissa O’Connor

DO NOT REMOVE OR PIN!!

Leave a Reply

