February Oh, February

February – Oh, February you have been a very busy month!

I was sitting in my rocker last night realizing  that it was indeed the end of the month. So I started contemplating exactly where this month and this is what went to…….

First part of the Month my Dan came down with a cold….oh dear, his sister came for a visit. It was a very nice visit even though we did not really do anything special – due to sad cold.

Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady Tuesday with Tasha Tudor

February from the Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady, displayed with a few of my favorite things

The first part of the month of February brings several birthdays. The first one to arrive is my oldest  gran – daughters, who turned eleven this year, oh my! She decided last year she was going to start collecting and wearing fashion scarves, so naturally, I knit her one. This year I knit her a neck kerchief. She likes to make list and schedules so I thought she might enjoy a felt note pad case along with a hair bow – she loves to wear hair adornments!!

Hand made gifts Unique yarns Kelp fiber Hand made hygge

Amellia’s Neck Kerchief.Hand knit in Sea Song yarn made of cotton and Kelp fiber. I like to try to use a unique yarn, last years scarf was knit of a yarn made of corn fiber!

February is also Amellia’s Daddy’s birthday…. and several more in the family.

Comforts of home handmade home felt note book pencil case hair bow necklace

Happy Eleventh Amellia! Felt note pad case along with the hand-made hair bows and necklace.

In the mean time ….

I was finishing up an order for one of my Hand-knit Tasha Tudor style Cottage Elegance cotton shawl. I enjoy including free gifts in my orders and have wanted to design a brooch / shawl pin to go with my shawls. Here are two I tried out.

 

Cottage Elegance Shawl Safety pin brooch Tasha Tudor style shawl pin brooch Handmade comforts of cozy home hygge Tasha Tudor style Cottage Elegance Kindred spirit shawl Tasha Tudor Tuesday

Tasha Tudor style shawl safety-pin brooch / shawl pin. I hand wired this brooch with beautiful cranberry and gold  czech glass beads.

We do see Tasha using a safety-pin to hold her shawl on……It always makes my kind of cinch when I see that the pin is just attached to just one stitch on each side, but I’m sure Tasha knew how to mend it if a stitch was to break. If you look close at the picture you can see that I catch two-rows of stitches on each side. Here is another style of brooch / shawl pin.

The hand made life handmade hygge Tasha Tudor style shawl pins brooches Tasha Tudor style Cottage Elegance Kindred Spirit shawl Tasha Tudor Tuesday

My Yo – yo brooch is made with a hand-dyed fabric (I purchased from another artesian) Encircled with czech glass beads accented with a shell button.

Happy Custmer = Make me happy!!
Received the  beautifully made shoulder Shawl,  I am late in saying thank you, Also thank you for the 2 pins And the two sachets.
I will email you Again as I would like one in grey And a little bigger I have wide shoulders and I am 5 feet 9.
I am happy to take custom orders.

Then came Valentines day and Dan shared his cold with me!!!

Be Mine Tasha Tudor Valentines Day Advent Calendar Bees was candle hygge Elegantlyhandmade.wordpress.com

Tasha Tudor “Be Mine” Valentine Advent calendar in the lovely glow of bee wax candle. A beautiful relaxing scene I take in from my rocking chair.

Dan did make up for sharing his cold with some lovely Valentines Day gifts.

Tea Cup Tuesday Limoges France China Violets print Valentines Day Gift Republic Tea German tea tray

Gifts from my Valentine

A beautiful wooden tea try from Germany with water colored wild flowers. I think I’m going to hang this on my wall. Some yummy Chocolate Velvet and peppermint chocolate republic tea.  Several years ago while visiting P.E.I  – Robert Montgomery ( Lucy Maud Montgomery’s second cousin once removed) gave Dan a lesson in how to identify fine china and Dan was a very good student  indeed, Here is yet another lovely tea-cup – Theodore Haviland Limoges fine china Tea up from France with a lovely violet print. I know you would like a closer look….

Tea cup Tuesday Theodore Haviland Limoges France Tea cup Fine china Lessons from Robert Montgomery Prince Edward Island Lucy Muad Montgomery Anne of Green Gables Tea cup Collections

My violets in my new violet tea-cup.

Tea cup Tuesday fine china

A closer look

Then another exciting visit…….My oldest daughter, son-in-law and two of my gran- daughter’s. I was over my cold enough to meet them at the park. It was a lovely day.

A Visit..... a little conversation on the shell phone ;)

A Visit….. a little conversation on gran’s  shell phone 😉

Knitting beginning projects Tasha Tudor Style Cottage Elegance Hygge shawl Spring cotton shawl

A little help knitting my Tasha Tudor Style shawl!!

She has always tried to help me with my knitting so this year I gave her a basket with her own yarn and knitting needles.

Nature Notes:

Feast of Fish Pelicans Florida in the Winter

The Pelicans, Sea gulls, cormorant love feasting on the fish in the canal this time of year.

Pelcan birds of Florida in the winter

Pelicans are interesting birds to watch. They are so big but glide so gracefully through the air and just above the water!

February Fest of the Pelicans on the banana River

Gliding in search of the perfect fish.

February Country Diary of and Edwardian Lady Birds of a Feather Bethany Tasha Tudor

Is it time yet? No we have until April this year!!

I hope you had a lovely February !

Take Joy ~ Melissa

You can find my shawls and PDF Pattern to knit your own shawl in My etsy shop. I also take custom orders for the brooches.

https://www.etsy.com/shop/elegantlyhandmade

You can find the lovely Valentines Day Advent Calendar – ‘Be Mine” at

https://www.tashatudorandfamily.com

All Content and Photographs are under copyright 2017 By Melissa O’Connor

Do not remover – do not PIN!!!

One thought on “February Oh, February

Leave a Reply

